Krikit's Baby Steps To Translation (Help?)

This forum is for Music & Culture related discussion

Moderators: Fringe Security Bureau, Senior Editors, Senior Translators, Alt. Language Translator/Editor, Executive Council, Project Translators, Project Editors

Krikit
Mikuru Bunny
Favourite Light Novel: Ahouka!

Krikit's Baby Steps To Translation (Help?)

Post by Krikit »

Okay, So I just want to let all of you who might read this know that I'm currently...or should I say finally, getting into the gear for translation. Today I went to a book store looking for an interesting younger kids book that has a good deal of kanji, with furigana over them all. I found said book, and am starting to translate it. As far as I know, I believe there are 8 volumes (there were 8 when I was at the book store). However, my skills are ABSOLUTE NOVICE Level, betraying my 121* Posts as a Kyonite, Haruhi Pacifier. Haha...pacifier....*ahem* where was I...

Anyway, I really want to translate this book as I want to continue advancing my skills in Japanese. However due to my lack of skill, I have alot of questions and the like that I need to ask, etc etc.So I was wondering.

Right now I have the project under my user-page discussion pages, and that's fine and all...But would it be possible to move it to the main wiki-page? It's sort of like a kids book light novel...think of an anime style cover, but no color inserts, large font, and occasional pictures throughout the text. The title is as follows:

黒魔女さんが通る

I translated this as "The Black Witch Is Passing" But I'm really not sure how it should be...Also, I translated the Prologe (1.2 pages ^_^) and here it is, with the Japanese text with it:

<ほんとうにあったこわい話> The Truly Scary Story
黒魔女にとりつかれた女の子 The Girl Obsessed with the Black Witch

東京のはずれの小さな街に、 五年生の女の子が住んでいました。
Along Tokyo’s small streets, lives a student in her fifth year.

ごくふつうの女の子は、 ごくふつうのオカルトマニアで、 ごくふつうの魔法書を読んで、 クラスの友だちに、 ごくふつうにきみわるがられていました。